NH Krystal Vallarta

Hotel rating
(based on 24 reviews)

1.Overall satisfaction: 3.58

2.Hotel service: 3.79

3.Hotel condition: 3.75

4.Room cleanliness: 3.96

5.Room comfort: 3.63

  • slide 1
  • slide 2
  • slide 3
  • slide 4
  • slide 5
  • click
  • click
  • click
  • click
  • click

Hotel class:

Rates from: $141 Check out the current rates at Expedia.com

Address: NH Krystal Vallarta
Avenida Las Garzas
48300 Puerto Vallarta, JAL
Mexico


What to expect: Distinguished by yellow domes at the entrance, the NH Krystal Vallarta resort resembles a Mexican colonial village with streets, wrought-iron street lamps, brick paths, and fountains. Mature gardens and tall palm trees grace the quiet grounds. Complimentary golf-cart shuttles transport guests around the 32-acre property. Families and couples find plenty of vacation space here. Amenity highlights: A main pool complex features interlocking swimming areas and includes a children's pool, two swim-up bars, shallow-water tile lounges, and an activities area. A second complex includes... More hotel details and booking info at Expedia.com


Write a review
 

Travelers' Reviews on this Hotel

 

ocenview

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 01.06.2010
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

I asked for oceanview but only had partial view which I was not happy but over was good

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Just Okay

by A traveler
posted on 01.06.2010
Overall satisfaction (2)
Hotel service (2)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (3)
Room comfort (3)

The hotel is good for family vacations. But it is noisy by the pool where music is blasted all the time. It spills out into the beach. Even the "quiet pool" can be noisy (screaming kids). The food is mediocre at best. However, the best service came from the waiters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Puerto Vallarta resting

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 12.28.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

The Hotel Staff was great and the Krystal was nice and relaxing great people in Puerto Vallarta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Awful service

by A traveler
from Guadalajara, Mexico
posted on 11.25.2009
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (1)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

The service in this hotel is the worst I have had, with things such as: The temperature when we arrived was 97 degrees, and of the 6-8 fans they had there, 0 were on! There were just 2 persons available for the check in, which resulted in us waiting about 1 hour before we got to the counter. Our rate included breakfast, and the hotel denied it. Our room was ready 30 minutes after the official time they tell you. We waited in the pool 1 hour for a guacamole and french fries. I would not go back there, even though the room was nice and clean.

Low season, during the winter, the sea is warm and the weather is good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Terrible service!!!

by Gabriel H
posted on 08.13.2009
Overall satisfaction (1)
Hotel service (1)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (2)
Room comfort (3)

Lets us just say Puerto Vallarta is beautiful and we would definitely go back, just NEVER AGAIN to this hotel. We paid for the all inclusive package and were greatly disappointed. Every room in the new tower is connected to another room through a door. The main restaurant has an open air buffet with lots of flies & birds feasting on it, and many times the dishes were not clean. All drinks are included, but if you look at what is behind every bar in the hotel you will be hesitant to get a drink. Room service is included as is the scrutiny of the operator on how much one eats. Alcoholic drinks are not included in room service. It takes up to 90 min & 2 calls for your food to be delivered, on average. Bottled water is supposed to be delivered to your room daily but it usually takes 3 or more calls (with a 30 min space between each) to get it. Room 10718 has a great terrace but no Wi-Fi, contrary to what management claims. Actually it seemed that any hotel employee you reach by phone will say whatever to just be rid of you, sometimes with a real attitude. The hotel was crowded & understaffed so all employees were not attentive, to say the least. The reception area is not air conditioned (read: hot as hell) & there are always long lines to reach the front desk. The 1500 characters this review space allows are not enough to provide all the reasons why we will NEVER go back to this hotel.

Traveler's tip:

Do not stay at the NH Krystal Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Good for the money

by Pete H
posted on 08.10.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (3)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

Beautiful place with nice pools and beach. The food in the main restaurant is OK (we didn't try the Italian or the sushi place). We could walk to stores, or to the Marina for the Pirate ship. We wish the room would've had a bathtub and free Wi-Fi. The shower head was directly overhead and it was impossible to move it. As always in Mexico, the service was very friendly. I would go back there again. The "Family room we got worked very well for our family of five.

We were glad we did NOT get the all-inclusive food package, since many of the activities in Puerto Vallarta (like zip lining, ATVs, horseback riding, Pirate ship, etc.) include food in the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

NH Krystal experance

by an anonymous traveler
from Colo. Spgs., CO.
posted on 06.17.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

Service of the staff was excellent the hotel was nicely appointed for an older property. excellent conveniant location Only issue was the bed was VERRRRRRRY uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

wait till construction is over

by salvador L
from San Diego, ca
posted on 05.05.2009
Overall satisfaction (2)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (2)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (2)

hotel is in a construction mode.. building new buildings on site .our room faced construction and work started early and finish late,. lots of noice,. hotel staff should have put guest as far as possible from construction. when we asked to be moved to a quieter area the hotel wanted and additional 40 dollar per day.and hotel was very low in guest. they should have moved us at no cost

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Very comfortable

by Jeanne P
posted on 04.15.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

We enjoyed our stay at the Krystal in PV. the biggest draw is the beach, it is situated on a great stretch of beach. We really loved the snack bar at the pool. The chef there was great and the service from the waiters was fabulous. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Wish I was still there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Would stay there again.

by caldar b
from Minneapolis, MN
posted on 04.08.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

We had all inclusive and would recommend getting that if staying at the Krystal. Food was ok/decent. Lots of food choices to keep everyone happy. Drinks were made well and enough liqour choices to satisfy most. Main pool area is very nice and located right on the beach. Rooms were very clean and nice. All staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Only a $3-5 cab ride to downtown where all the action is. The resort is like a small town. The resort has villas, restaurants, pools, etc. located all over the grounds. Very nice. There is cuurently construction next door but was not really an issue.

Traveler's tip:

Go downtown on the boardwalk each sunday late afternoon/early evening for city festival. There all all kinds of performances and shopping. Very cool

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Stay anywhere, except here.

by Karen F
from Mercer Island, WA
posted on 03.28.2009
Overall satisfaction (1)
Hotel service (1)
Hotel condition (2)
Room cleanliness (2)
Room comfort (2)

This used to be our favorite hotel. Not anymore. We will never stay here again. Their customer service sucks and they are mostly focused on conventions. They could care less about the tourists. I would recommend staying in any other hotel. Our experience was beyond poor. This place has really slid down the slope as far as we are concerned.

Traveler's tip:

I wouldn't stay here, even if I were a college student on Spring Break. You would have to be a passed out drunk to enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Third time in this hotel now under NH management. GREAT IMPROVEMENT.

by Ricardo A
from Monterrey, Mexico
posted on 03.04.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

Great experience. Service is very good. Rooms are VERY clean and well maintained. Food is OK (nothing special), that is why we chose not to buy the all inclusive package and instead visit the downtown and near by restaurants. Only issue might be that you might need to walk long distances within the hotel to move arround (i.e. from room tower to lobby or main entrance).

Traveler's tip:

Don't eat only in the hotel restaurants. There are 100s of options, particularly in downtown. You will find all kinds of places ranging from the most and very expensive ones, to others which might be quite unexpensive but offering great food. Best optins are not on the Malecˇn street, but one street further up on Morelos street, not many but the true not "for gringo" places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Excellent Mexican Hotel

by an anonymous traveler
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
posted on 12.29.2008
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

The Krystal is by far the best hotel in PV. Although the beds aren't as soft as at home, this is very common in all of Vallarta. Other than some light construction noise, that was often off-set by the(at your request)pool music, this hotel is wonderful. This was my 7th return trip to the Krystal, and after staying elsewhere prior, I'll always return here. The staff is Wonderful, very friendly and always doing whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. The View is amazing and the Breakfast is incredible. A side note suggestion-if you have signed up for all-inclusive, although it isn't required, bring a few extra dollars to tip the waitstaff, they work very hard for you, and although they treat everyone fairly-you will be remembered with an extra dollar or 2 given. Remember this is Mexico, and time is not important while on vacation! Enjoy!

Traveler's tip:

An excellent place to eat is Tony's Please, located in the Romantic Zone. They have the best Chicken Tetrizini & Garlic Soup. Also for nightlife the Hilo is perfect for a fun night out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Some good some bad.

by Mary H
posted on 11.19.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (5)

My husband and I went on our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel 35 years ago. It's not what it used to be, but nothing is. Puerto Vallarta has changed and so has this hotel. The Krystal is one of the last holdouts for going high rise, but the construction for a high rise is going on now. One of the charms of this hotel was it wasn't just another high rise hotel. Will we go back, probably, but a lot of that is sentiment on our part. Would I recommend it, probably, one high rise is as good as another. But I must add that the staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious. I love to eat at the hotel restaurant overlooking the ocean. We've never felt rushed by the staff and have been able to sit and relax and enjoy the view. By the way the breakfast buffet is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

not impressed

by A traveler
from Frisco, Co.
posted on 11.12.2008
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (3)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (2)
Room comfort (3)

First 7 days we stayed in a villa, it had pleanty of room but our private pool was dirty and low on water. Maid service was very good. We opted to do the all-inclusive for 3 days of our stay, the food and drink was actually pretty good, and the service by the pool was decent as well. However, they tell you your room will be stocked every day, which it wasn't and that you can order for room service. When we ordered room service, people on the phone had no clue. When we ate at the Japanese place they gave us the run-around telling us we could order no more? I was like,"we ate here last night and had everything we wanted, what's the deal". On our final night we had to switch to a different room, they stuck us over by the club "Christine" where the music pumped till 4 a.m. This room was old and dirty and I was told there were pleanty other rooms, yet they put people next to the club? Never going there again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Good Place to Stay

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 08.03.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

We stayed in an ocean front room. It was nice, but it is a bit noisey, especially during the breakfast set up. The beds were stiff. At first, I thought this would be a problem; but after the first day, I realized I need to change my bed at home. We slept fantastic on them. The pools are great. The hotel workers were all very polite except for the guys running the golf carts. We stopped using them after the first day and just walked to the taxi area. Beach access was right there for those who like the beach. They make yhou wear an annoying non-removable bracelet which we could have done without. At least make it removable for sleeping and tanning! We did the couples massage on the last day. I was so mad at ourselves for not doing it the first day. We get monthly massages and we both had the best massages ever!! $75 for 75 minutes for both of us!! The massage is a must do on the first day. I guarantee you'll do it everyday.

Traveler's tip:

Must do the zip lines:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Excellent vacation plan

by an anonymous traveler
from Juarez, Mex
posted on 07.22.2008
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

If you family is not bigger than 5 members, this plan is excellent, specially for your pocket!

Don't go out everything you need is inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Not recommended

by A traveler
from Chicago, IL
posted on 05.13.2008
Overall satisfaction (2)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (1)
Room cleanliness (3)
Room comfort (1)

Construction on the hotel was right outside our window and started at 7:00 AM every morning. Good thing service was prompt since we needed maintenance often for the stopped toilet and shower. Walk from the room to the lobby was not pleasant since sidewalk was difficult to walk on. Overall, great service but not enough to make up for the condition of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

It's all about the hotel staff

by an anonymous traveler
from Portland, Oregon
posted on 04.19.2008
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

In a truly fine hotel, the staff reflects the culture and the local color. The Krystal has the true feel of old Mexico while offering the best of modern Puerto Vallarta. No hotel staff makes the guest feel more at home or more pampered than NH Krystal. From the reception area, the dining room, the pool, and massage area all the hotel staff is present and willing to help.

Traveler's tip:

Joe Jack's Restaurant is a must visit for Mojito's and the best fish soup in Mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Good hotel

by A traveler
posted on 04.10.2008
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

Everything was very nice, and excellent service. Just that i paid for the transportation from the airport to the hotel, and nobody picked me up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Good for the money

by A traveler
from New York City, NY
posted on 04.01.2008
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (3)
Hotel condition (2)
Room cleanliness (3)
Room comfort (3)

My friend and I went to this hotel for our spring break. We are a couple of years out of college and were hoping that it would be a little nicer than your typical "spring break" hotel. The hotel had a large amount of spring breakers, but we were pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the hotel considering it was 3 stars. Our biggest complaint was the lack of good food and poor service. We never felt that anyone was catering to our needs in a hospitable way. It was nearly impossible to get a drink at the pool bars without standing there for a good 5 minutes (unless no one was standing there with you). The grounds are beautiful and so is the pool area, however, our room was not well maintained. Drawers and closets were broken. The bathroom was the nicest part of the room. Overall, the hotel was fine for what my friend and I were looking for, but I would never go if I was looking for a luxurious and pampered stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Great place, great people

by an anonymous traveler
from Minneapolis, MN
posted on 03.11.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (3)

This was our second stay at the Krystal. Everyone who works at there was friendly and helpful and I would go back right now. Having said that, the only negative for us was the bed. I wish, wish, wish they would get softer mattresses.

Traveler's tip:

The taxi drivers and some of the hotel personnel are getting a kickback (money/gift certificates/prizes) from local restaurants for suggesting the restaurants to tourists. The people at the hotel were honest about that, but some of the taxi drivers were not. As a result, on one occasion, we found ourselves at an exceedingly expensive restaurant (Ay Carumba!). The little we ordered there was awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Nice for the money

by an anonymous traveler
from Atlanta, GA
posted on 02.26.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

The hotel is nice for the money. I recommend staying in the newer building right on the beach. Great Sunsets and a friendly staff. This hotel is not a luxuary hotel but the pool and staff make it feel luxury. I would stay there again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Krystal Hotel

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 02.20.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

great location right on the beach; get the couples massage - excellent and good price. Our king sized bed was a little firm for my taste. Conn. breakfast; social hour came with room rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

Write a review

 
 

Search

Advanced search



 

More Area Hotels

 

Book a Hotel

Destination:


Rooms:


Check-In: Check-Out:
 

Vacation-Wizard.com ® 2004-2010

Parse Time: 0.454s