Casa Dona Susana (formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)

Hotel rating
(based on 22 reviews)

1.Overall satisfaction: 4.18

2.Hotel service: 4.41

3.Hotel condition: 4.05

4.Room cleanliness: 4.27

5.Room comfort: 3.68

  • slide 1
  • slide 2
  • slide 3
  • slide 4
  • slide 5
  • click
  • click
  • click
  • click
  • click

Hotel class:

Check out the current rates at Expedia.com

Address: Casa Dona Susana (formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)
Manuel M Dieguez No 171
48380 Puerto Vallarta, JAL
Mexico


Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in at this property. Casa Dona Susana (formerly Los Arcos Vallarta) offers a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a coffee shop/café. The property provides room service during limited hours. This property features spa services, massage and treatment rooms, beauty services, and a hair salon. Casa Dona Susana (formerly Los Arcos Vallarta) also offers an outdoor pool, wireless Internet access, and barbecue grills. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. Casa Dona Susana (formerly Los Arcos Vallarta) is a smoke-free property (... More hotel details and booking info at Expedia.com


Write a review
 

Travelers' Reviews on this Hotel

 

Quiet little gem

by an anonymous traveler
from San Francisco, CA
posted on 01.27.2010
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

The front desk staff was courteous and efficient, and very welcoming to me and my same-sex partner. Any time we had a question, staff were always very helpful. The central location in the Zona Romantica was perfect, and the hotel itself was small and tranquil. Views from the small rooftop pool were great, and the huge tree growing up through the central open courtyard was really cool. Though there were no services such as restaurant or bar in the Casa Dona Susana, guests are given free use of the pool (and poolside bar service!) of the Los Arcos hotel down the block, which is great. A wonderful place to stay if you're looking to have a relaxing stay in a clean, authentic Mexican-style hotel away from the big resorts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Great location, lovely setting, no major problem...

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 12.23.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

The check in process was perfectly fine and the hotel is beautifully decorated and very agreeable with lots of plants/flowers but there was quite a strong smell of humidity in the room, but we got used to that after 2 days. The beds are so huge that the room feels quite small. The rooms only have showers in the bathroom which are really tiny. The top floor outer swimmingpool was lovely, very warm, really appreciated when we couldn't stand the street peddlers on the beach anymore! The fact that there is no child in the hotel was a nice feature also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Casa Dona Susana, Vallartaīs Zona Romantica great discovery

by an anonymous traveler
from Mexico, D.F.
posted on 12.09.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

The hotel has got one of Vallartaīs Zona Romantica best locations, Itīs a good hotel at an excelent price, Roomīs are Ok, most of them have windows that face the corridor, not outside, but they are clean, with very nice Mexican Colonial furniture. The swiming pool-terrace on the roof is great and the Staff is great.

Maņana, one of the best clubs in Mexico, itīs only a few blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

A Good place to stay

by an anonymous traveler
from Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
posted on 11.24.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

Part ot 3 hotels in one. This is the least expensive of the 3. Always book it through Expedia and get the best rates. A short walk to the beach and worth the savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

regular visit

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 10.28.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

keep coming back to this hotel year after year because it is economical, friendly, near everything worth doing, and has the use of three different facilities... however there are too many wonderful restaurants and bars in the local area to go the way of the all inclusive package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Right around the corner from the beach

by an anonymous traveler
from San Francisco, CA
posted on 10.07.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

I was originally slated to have a standard room, but I noticed that the windows did not open. I went down to ask whether there was another option, since I suffer abit from asthma, and since it was low season (and only because it was low season) did they have an option: and beautiful it was! A balcony! The view was not the best, but I could sit outside (after borrowing a coffee maker, and having coffee in my room!) and 'view' the ocean. Again, the Casa is not at the ocean: but that's okay, since it's all of 50 paces away. The staff is extremely friendly (although, the FD staff tend to stay on the phone on what appear to be personal calls, while you are waiting for service?) and leave 'flowers' made of toilet tissues when making the beds! Quite nice. The neighborhood is great: access to the beach is via the Playa los Arcos (easy!); restaurants & bars abound in the neighborhood; as do the taco stands around the corner! In less than five minutes (strolling) you are on the Malecon; even before that, you get to the Island with the Banyan tree!

Traveler's tip:

You will be pestered on the beach to purchase the 'local goods'. A friendly "no gracias, amigo/amiga" is sufficient. It won't keep them away, but you will feel better than just ignoring them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Not very impressed

by Mark S
from Seattle, WA
posted on 09.29.2009
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

The rooms were packed together very tightly. I did not like that you only had about 2ft of moving space around the bed to do any unpacking or anything. The shower was tucked away in the bathroom, the sink being so close that if you are a somewhat larger person you would not be able to make it in and out of the shower. The service was decent, going to the hotel down the street for food and drinks was not too bad, but this hotel was defiantly more "authentic" rather than luxurious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Well worth the money, excellent staff, great location

by an anonymous traveler
from Wine Country, Ca.
posted on 09.08.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

Hotel was ok, nothing luxurious, clean and well staffed at a great location with access to their sister hotel that is more up scale. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Nice enough for frugal travelers

by an anonymous traveler
from Inland Empire, CA
posted on 09.02.2009
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (3)
Room comfort (2)

This is a charming hotel. Don't expect fancy accomodations. Walls are not sound proof, I could hear the commotion going on near by every morning. If you are looking for a room to sleep and take a shower and save money for other activities this is the place for you. Nothing fancy or expectacular just a place to crash after a day full of outdoor activities. The swimming pool is nice and quiet, perferct place to relax. Hotel is located withing waling distance of malecon, restaurants down town.

Traveler's tip:

Attactions I recommend are: Exploring the Jungle, Zip linning

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

NIce Place To Stay, But

by Robert R
from Palm Springs, CA
posted on 03.31.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (3)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

Requested a King sized bed when making the reservations but hotel could not accommodate upon arrival and we ended up with 2 singles. Found hotel to be very quiet which was what we wanted. The only problem which we encountered was that our room on the first floor was always one of the last to be made up so we didn't have a clean room to come back to till sometime after 4:00PM each day. No one paid attention to the sign provided by the hotel requesting our "room was vacant and should be cleaned now" and placed on the outside door knob every morning before 9:00AM. Suggest an upper floor room as the maids start from the top and work their way down each and every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Great Hotel

by Joel R
posted on 03.31.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

Great tourist class hotel in old town with access to all the facilities at Playa Los Arcos across the street where you can get a umbrella and chaise on the beach. Staff is friendly. Rooms are basic but very clean (good sheets). Nice roof top pool for an afternoon siesta or quiet read. Close to the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping.

Traveler's tip:

Restaurants: Breakfast: Andelay (1 block) - grab a sidewalk table and have the special while watching the morning unfold. Dinner: (1)Fajita Republic (2 blocks) - better than Cafe D'Olla and no line. Get the fish or steak fajitas. (2) Picnic (3 blocks south) - Get the half spit-fired chicken with rice and oven roasted potatoes, with a beer for less than $10 and then get some gelato on the way back from in front of the Pizza place on the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Okay very noisy and bathroom had a sewage smell

by Nick M
from Portland, OR
posted on 03.25.2009
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (3)
Room comfort (3)

Good for the price but pretty noisy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Cozy on a Side Street

by James P
from South Bend, IN
posted on 03.24.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

Quiet and on a side street, but access to the Los Arcos Hotel for the all-inclusive is very convenient. Attentive, friendly staff. Cabana restaurant looks out over the ocean - birds, dolphins, whales all visible. I could stay there all winter,

Traveler's tip:

All inclusive added on is relatively cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Great price;friendly service

by an anonymous traveler
from Colorado Springs, CO
posted on 03.17.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

This is a nice, quiet hotel off the main drag, but still very close to the beach. Check in went very well with the exception of the clerk failing to give us a handout explaining all the ammenities and how to utilize the all inclusive aspects (plus our free BBQ grill coupons). We asked the sister hotel and they provided the information. The access to the sister hotel's beach was excellent. Only a one minute walk from the Casa Dona Susana. We had a great time and the staff was attentive and helpful. I will say that we were constantly harrassed by vendors walking around trying to drum up business, but they at least weren't pushy. The food was buffet style, but excellent. Lots of variety and at least five cakes to try at every lunch and dinner. Drinks were ok, but you are limited to certain brands with your all inclusive. The room was relatively old but still charming. The beds are quite hard as there are no box springs, just wood underneath the mattresses. All in all, an excellent experience at this hotel...and you certainly could not beat the price.

If it bothers you, this section of Puerto Vallarta is very gay freindly. Not many public displays of affection though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Nice hotel in Old Town

by an anonymous traveler
from Seattle, wa
posted on 03.03.2009
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

We stayed there on our recent trip. Nice hotel, very friendly. Great pool on the roof. No windows in rooms, though. Bathroom really small.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Beautiful boutique hotel!

by Amy S
from Marina Del Rey, CA
posted on 02.13.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (5)

Very friendly and accommodating hotel staff. Beautiful room and pool. Get a room with a balcony. I want to go back!

Traveler's tip:

Go to Yelapa and hike to the waterfall in the rainforrest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

a classic

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 02.12.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

showing it's age a bit, but nice a nd quiet. good location and nice roof top pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

great for the money

by an anonymous traveler
from Seattle, WA
posted on 02.10.2009
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

my boyfriend and i are not people who travel a thousand miles to sit in our hotel room...that being said, casa dona susana was perfect for us. the staff was extremely friendly and our room was just what we needed--a place to sleep and store our belongings. the location is fantastic as well, just a block from the beach. we will stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Great Location

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 01.21.2009
Overall satisfaction (3)
Hotel service (3)
Hotel condition (3)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (3)

Casa Dona Susana is a basic, small hotel with a terrrific location. Rooms are ok, bathrooms small, with very little ventilation. Staff was helpful, food at the sister hotel Los Arcos was good. Drinks mediocre esp the variety (we had the all inklusiv option).

Traveler's tip:

Lots of shopping, night life, restaurants and transportation in the near area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

Good Price, Great Value

by Deborah L
from Oakland, CA
posted on 12.08.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (4)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (3)

My husband and I spent four nights at Casa Dona Susana and were attracted to it because it is adults only. It was a quiet retreat, very conveniently located and offered the full services of the Playa Los Arcos hotel across the street. It was easy to use the spa, restaurant and bar over there and charge it all to our room. We loved the roof top pool at Casa Dona Susana. The room was small but clean and had everything we needed. I would reserve a bigger room next time. All staff was super friendly and helpful.

Traveler's tip:

If you can afford it, pay a bit more for a smaller boat trip down the coast instead of going on a big boat with lots of people. We spent a lot of time waiting to be ferried to and from the beaches to the boat. Even so, the staff was extremely attentive to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

How to relax

by an anonymous traveler
posted on 11.04.2008
Overall satisfaction (4)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (4)
Room cleanliness (4)
Room comfort (4)

My wife and I stayed for 1 week at the end of October '08. We chose it based on a few criteria. Closeness to beach restaurants and shops. No children allowed, a bonus as we were leaving ours behind for the wee, and just needed to relax. Price, really cheap for the 6 nights with advance purchase. The hotel was excellent, the rooms were clean, the staff were friendly. The rooftop swimming pool was fantastic. There is also the option of using the sister hotel's (Los Arcos)facilities, i.e. Pool, Beach, beauty center etc. Highly recommended, go, you will enjoy it.

Traveler's tip:

This is a cheap, nice hotel, close to the beach and local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

 

perfect getaway

by A traveler
posted on 10.29.2008
Overall satisfaction (5)
Hotel service (5)
Hotel condition (5)
Room cleanliness (5)
Room comfort (4)

small botique hotel. quiet clean close to all amenities restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Yes
No
Bookmark, share or blog this review:

  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
  • Bookmark me
Add a comment
  Name  (required)
  Enter validation code here  (required)
Submit
Cancel
 

Write a review

 
 

Search

Advanced search



 

More Area Hotels


Hotel Suites de Sol
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 3
All Inclusive Samba Vallarta
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 20
Casa Iguana Hotel
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 11
Emperador Hotel & Suites
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 19
El Pescador Hotel
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 18
Playa del Sol Grand
Hotel class:.
Reviews: 24
 

Book a Hotel

Destination:


Rooms:


Check-In: Check-Out:
 

Vacation-Wizard.com ® 2004-2010

Parse Time: 0.452s